A pretty awesome honor.

Well, since the youtube upload didn’t work, it’ll be coming for those of you what insist on video, I figured I’d post the audio. For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a crazy thing I still don’t quite understand.

There’s a Nepali group called Kutumba. They are awesome, go look them up on the youtube and then go buy all their CDs, yes, they’re that good. Well they came to Madison to start a US tour to raise funds for a school in Nepal. I wanted to see if I could get lessons from them on the bansuri, (Nepali and Indian bamboo flute), and the sarangi, a bowed instrument similar to a fiddle. At one point I was playing around on bansuri, and somehow, this turned into them asking me to play a song with them when they came back to do another concert here in Madison.

I leave the audio to speak for itself, except to say, in case it isn’t obvious, I’m playing the lower flute, the higher one is being played by Rubin Kumar Shrestha. Like I said at the concert, Kutumba means family, and I think it’s incredible that they invited me to be a part of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

